My Experience with Blepharitis

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all, I am currently a medical student who has been suffering from blepharitis for over 2 years now. I wanted to take this opportunity to share my experience of the condition, and some of the things that I have personally found helpful in managing the symptoms.

I think a lot of the frustration surrounding patients suffering from blepharitis is due to the insufficiency of current medical practice in dealing with such chronic, incurable conditions. As many of you may already know, the current gold standard for managing blepharitis is utilising heat compress (for around 5-10 minutes), followed by lid hygiene techniques (warm water and baby shampoo to cleanse the eyelids are often recommended). In addition, doctors routinely prescribe topical eye drops in order to hydrate the ocular surface. In my experience, such steps, whilst contributory, are NOT sufficient to effectively control symptoms. My encounter with several independent ophthalmologists suggests that doctors often also do not recognise the severity of symptoms, and what a tremendous impact the condition may have on one's quality of life. 

With these in mind, I wanted to share some of the techniques that I am currently using on a daily basis (I shall leave a link to all the relevant material at the end). I want to stress that these are all from my own experiences, and thus may not necessarily be translatable to everyone. Furthermore, I would like to clarify that I am not endorsed by any of the product manufacturers that I may mention. 

[u]Heat compress and lid hygiene[/u]