My Four Year Update to How I’m Doing

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello, I'm Nick. I used to come on here often back in 2018 when I was struggling.

My life is really good nowadays. I got sick with active mono infection in 2017. I proceeded to have a long drawn out bout with it. My main symptoms were anxiety, sensations in my throat and chest such as pulsing, vibrating, prickling, etc. I would get winded very easily, and my sleep was often disturbed.

Over the past few years, many of the things I once experienced went completely away, and the few core symptoms have become gradually better and better. If i look back at each year, I realize i am better now than i was previously. I live a very active life. I am a rock climbing instructor and routesetter. I go surfing, hiking, I work full time in a physical job. Im very fortunate to be as capable as I am. Still, I do experience that there is still something affecting my throat and chest that causes them to pulse and feel scratchy. Im not sure how to get rid of it. It doesnt really have a big effect on my life, except in quiet moments i percieve that it is still there, although way less pervasive than before. I believe someday this last lingering symptom will fade away.

I hope that anyone who has had a long experience with this type of illness can continue to have hope and patience and know that some healing can take years to occur, but the body continues to try to heal, and i hope any who are struggling continue to support their body in healing.

I am curious to hear from anyone who i used to chat with on here to learn how they are doing these days. its too bad there is so much less activity on here lately, this place was a great support to me.

Cheers everyone.

2 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Nick,

Glad to hear of your recovery. I too recovered. After a bout with covid, I was diagnosed with mono, again. It seems to be better than the last time or maybe I am just better at handling it.