My Haemochromatosis diagnosis is kind of a relief

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have literally just been diagnosed. Not started treatment yet but have been told what to expect. My Fibroscan today was normal, I have an Ultrasound scan next week. The high Iron levels were picked up through routine blood tests i'm required to have because of medication I take. For quite a while i've felt abnormally tired,weak,depressed,painful joints etc. I never visited my GP because a lot of the problems I have been experiencing I just put down to the aging process , (i'm fifty) and well frankly,because i've felt too depressed to.. I understand the treatment will prevent further more serious health issues,but can anyone who has similar experiences  tell me whether the treatment will help with my existing issues, tiredness,lack of motivation,lack of sex drive,painful joints etc etc

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I keep watching to see if anyone replies to you because I'm new to hh too and wish to know if my tiredness and joint pain will cease as well. Some days are worse than others for me. I've so far only done two blood donations which I do once a month and am still menstruating. 42 years old. I'm yet to find out if my ferritin levels have gone down and have an appt next week with the hematologist which I've had to wait 4 months to see. There seems to be so much information on anaemia but very little on iron overload in comparison. Doctors only know so much as well so it is very frustrating. Also every individual is different with symptoms and there are a huge list of possible symptoms. I know this doesn't help but maybe just to know there are others in the same boat as you may make you feel less alone.

• Posted