My horrible periods keep me in bed for up to 3 days, needing advice!

Posted , 5 users are following.

I just turned 18 this month, I've had periods since I was 11. They have always been horrible.. Extreme pain, severe nausea, diarrhea... I've taken multiple kinds of pain medication and the only thing that somewhat helps a little bit is Aleve.. My periods keep me in bed for up to 3 days... Aside from it being so painful, it also gets in the way of so many other things. I'm a musician so I have to turn down good paying gigs because of it, I also don't know how I'm going to be able to get a job because most places only allow 12 sick days per year and I'm needing to get a job soon.. I've been to 4 different doctors and nurse practitioners and none of them have done or said anything to help me. One of them prescribed me nausea meds but they didn't work.. I feel so helpless at times because it seems like there's nothing I can do about it.. If there is anything anyone could tell me that would help, please do.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi. Sorry you are having a hard time.

Have you checked your iron levels? Lots of women are anaemic or have iron deficiency anaemia,

You may also wish to rule out endometriosis which can cause bad periods although invasive for conclusive diagnosis.

Lastly birth control might help, please weigh up risks and benefits and discuss with a doctor.

Hope this helps.

• Posted

I'll definitely get those checked, thanks. Doctors have told me not to take birth control due to a heart issue I have.

• Posted

i was in the same situation in my 20s i went onto the pill it really helped less painful and alot lighter sometimes didnt have a period at all i did go for a pelvic ultrasound first to see if was any underlying cause they found nothing and put it down to painful periods

• Posted

Maybe I should get the ultrasound done then.. Doctors say I can't take birth control due to a heart issue I have.

• Posted