My journey starts today

Posted , 6 users are following.

After 2 years on a bottle of vodka a night I’m losing a battle with vodka but I want to quit before I lose everything I usually start drinking at 3pm every day and by 11pm the vodka is gone  I think most drinkers will relate to the happy place it finally takes you to that feeling of no problems and everything will be ok tomorrow but it’s a vicious circle I’ve found myself in but I want to change , I have no support I’m not under the doctor but after reading some heartwarming stories on here I e decided that tonight I’m going to start at 9pm and I’m buying a quarter bottle today for this evening my question is I’m reaching out to ask is this the best way to taper the amount I’m drinking I’m very new to this it’s my first day is there any advice or tips you can help me with ? Yours faithfully Simon 

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Boy does this sound familiar. Vodka was my drug of choice forMANY years   Also like you, I drank daily for hours to get to that happy/numb spot. I will be sober 8 years on Friday.  It’s really about finding what works for YOU as everyone is different. Having less or eventually nothing in the house is good. Find a way to stay busy.  If you sit around and just think about the drink, it will drive you crazy.     Praying for you 
    • Posted

8 yeArs sober is amazing. Me 5 1/2 years sober and also drank vodka, red or white, strong cider etc. Had circle years and will never stop until you take a dramatic stop. Monkey's story about her sister is completely heartbreaki ing ..

• Posted

Suggestive typing on tablet is nuts..I meant that drinking is a vicious circle which you have to break. Not easy..do try..
  • Posted