My Mirt taper - not that bad :)

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hey everyone,

I've been a member of this site for a while and never really posted anything but I see a lot of posts discussing withdrawal and peoples horrible experiences so I wanted to post one that shows it's not bad for everyone smile

I'm not discrediting those people who have had a really hard time, just want a positive one out there for people looking for info when they start coming off so they maybe don't get so scared!

So I have been on Mirtazapine for 8 months, 1 month on 15mg, 1 month on 30mg then the other 6 months on 45mg, I took it for panic disorder and my terrible anxiety.

After 8 months I found that it was making me feel very down, unable to concentrate (I am a uni student in my third year so I need to stay sharp) and that it wasn't doing much for my anxiety so I decided to lower to 15mg again and then if I wasn't feeling any results come off it completely and maybe try something else.

So I went from 45mg down to 30mg for three weeks, the first four days I had a bit of nausea (on a scale of 1 - 10 only about 6) and found in the mornings I needed to poop a lot but I always felt fine by the afternoon. These symptoms only lasted the first four days and then I was fine, but I stayed on 30mg for three weeks to be safe. I noticed immediately I was feeling much less cloudy in my brain and less irritable, on 45mg I was having INSANE menstrual pain and PMS (crying every day I had my period) and this all seemed to ease once back on 30mg.

Then I went down to 15mg, again the first four days I had the poops in the morning and a bit of nausea (only on the first day this time).

I have been on 15mg for a week now and still feel pretty much fine, it seems to be only the first couple of days I felt ill before I bounced back. Going to stay on 15mg for another two weeks just to make sure I'm clear and to decide whether or not to come off entirely.