my mothers severe treatment resistant depression

Posted , 3 users are following.

I have never suffered from depression. I hold a degree and had good career potential. I am an only child and so is my mother.  My mother (currently 69) has been suffering from severe treatment-resistant depression for over three years. I initially had to quit my job to help care but am now seeking employment. She has been in and out of the hospital for years and has even had many electro-convulsive therapies. she is home now. Every minute of every day she is suffering (crying, frightened why this is happening to her, wants to die to stop the feelings) and I can't take watching my soul mate / best friend suffering every minute of every day any more. The nurse said there is nothing else they can do apart from rest-bite in a care home. her life is a living hell, so is my dads and so is mine. this illness is ruining our small family and my marriage. I have sought therapy for myself to try to cope, but it does not help. Seeing my mother severely tortured on a daily basis is making me very unwell and I see no hope. It may help if I find someone in a similar position that's why I have posted in this forum. Maybe I am not alone.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Sorry regards your Mother, you and Father must be going through the mill. Your Husband must be very concerned

Do you have any idea why She is the way she is, I undrstand this is not the same as you. My Father died from Demntia and I looked after an Aunt that had managed to hide her ondition until Her Husband died, it was really heart breaking dealing with Social Services Doctors and speialists.

Eventually in this type of condition your Mother has sometimes a Respite centre could give family some time to catch their breath for a week or so.