my new diagonosis

Posted , 3 users are following.

hi guys need a little advice i am currently employed as a print finisher/guillotine operator ans i have been off work since february 2014 with a pain in my right groin/buttock well finally i have a diagnosis and my doctor has told me no more heavy lifting and no more running although she recomends swimming and walking and light excersise.well ive been off work for quite a while now and i got called in to talk to the occupational consultant he seems to think i can reverse this situation and get back to normal so tomorrow i am going back to work on light duties having recently being sent home because my manager got quite angry when i presented him with my sick note saying i was fit to do light duties and come back on phased return to work. well to be honest my work was very heavy manually as im a guillotine operator and have to lift heavy work into the guillotines and some of it is very large and heavy to the point that i struggled before i hurt myself before christmas 2013.i am worried about how long these so called duties are going to go on for and when i stand if the manager tries to make me start heavy lifting again and straining myself. i need to know what will happen if i refuse to go on the large guillotine(very heavy lifting,twisting and turning) oor on the large drilling machine where sometimes i have to climb up on top of it to set the drills.im terrified im going to hurt myself more or that they will just sack me or force me out of my job please help.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Dave...your employer has to make reasonable adjustments especially if you consider yourself to have a disability.....if those adjustments cannot be made and you are incapable of doing the job you are employed to do then ultimately you could be dismissed on capability grounds...I'd get your union involved at the earliest opportunity.