My PanOptix Experience – Both Eyes

Posted , 12 users are following.

I was severely nearsighted from an early age, about -6 in both eyes. I wore glasses and contacts my whole life. Clear vision without correction began about 4 inches from my face and ended at about 8 inches. Ten years ago, in my 40s, I began to develop cataracts and since then my sight got worse, eventually diminishing to around -13.75 in both eyes. By that point, my unaided depth of vision began around 2 inches and ended at 4 inches. My right eye was worse, giving everything a yellow tint. I’m a writer so using a computer was important to me. Ditto reading a cell phone. Ditto driving. Contacts and glasses kept me functional, but good vision was slipping away.

Like most of you, I did research, considered monofocals, EDOF such as Vivity, Synergy, and tri-focals such as PanOptix. I read accounts of people who mixed IOLs of different types, monovision, under-correction, and so forth. As most of you know, there is no single ideal choice for IOL. On paper, PanOptix offered the most depth of focus compared to a dozen other products, but I read about flickering, halos, glistenings, loss of contrast, and other scary problems.

In the end, I put aside those concerns and chose PanOptix for both eyes because they offered the best potential improvement. My ophthalmologist suggested I do both eyes on the same day. That takes trust, but I was ok with it because of how I researched physicians. I chose my doctor out of six recommended candidates, and the final two candidates both performed exams with diagnosis and consultation. Ya... I did it twice. Totally worth it.