My SVTs And PVCs are gone - my cure

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello, about 5 years ago I was diagnosed with SVTs and PVCs, after I went in because of pounding and skipped heart beats.Basically told no cure except surgery for more severe cases. Since I was 50 pounds overweight I decided to join Weight Watchers to see if losing weight would help. While I didn't lose much weight, I started eating the much healthier food that they recommended and eating much less of the bad food (chips, sweets, wine..) that I normally eat. Within 3 or 4 days the pounding heartbeat was gone and the skipped beats seemed to be subside. Within a few weeks, they were gone. 5 years later, I'm still symptom free. I've been eating what weight watchers taught me for the past 5 years, and I feel better in other ways too…. I don't know if it'll help you too, but I wanted to share…

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Good for you!!!

I also have SVT (atrial tachycardia)

While my weight is good, I have never seen any connection to it. I have episodes weekly ranging from 10 minutes to 6 hours. Maneuvers usually work. I do not go to the hospital for this.

I used to have flutters and have found magnesium really helps this

You mentioned yours skips are gone, but what about your SVT?

• Posted

What I noticed was, when I started eating right, the thumping/pounding heartbeat went away, and the skipped beats stopped - now I have a regular heartbeat , all the time. I haven't gone back in to get officially checked for the SVTs etc (I feel fine now and nothing they can about it anyway, right? ) I just know I'm in a much better place with this diet because I don't feel any of the symptoms that I felt before...

• Posted

p.s. One other symptom that I had that I no longer have, was like a clenching/ tightening of my heart/ heart muscle, from time to time.That also went away with the changed diet.

• Posted

Sugar and alcohol can definitely affect your heart rate if you have an intolerance.