My unfortunate experiences with HFS

Posted , 3 users are following.

which had started appearing  intermittantly in around 2012 has grown more consistant to where it's pretty much 24/7.  Happy to at least know that it rarely affects both sides of the face, so my neurologist tells me.  I have talken Botox injections - especially in the eylid area - for almost 2 years and have founf it to be a complete waste of time. I am a Veteran and am fortunate to have the  treatments without having to co-pay so far. I sympathize with many on these forums - this disorder(?) is very new to me.

I have read through many of the posts here discussing their experiences with it and how they cope or try to overcome the problem with little 'tricks' or rituals that are somewhat successful in abating the twitch to some extent...but not permantly. I can understand that my methods will not work for everybody, butI would like to share with those what I have found to completely eliminate twitching (for a stretch)  when applying

these little antedotes. Here are 3 that seems to work for me :

1. Taking quick deep breaths through the nose for about 30 seconds.  This always seems to work and not sure why. Am I doing something to add oxygen to the blood which has a direct realtionshipt to the vein that interferes with the facial nerve? Interesting though, but it's not something I can regular do throught the day without getting strange looks from people. Perhaps taking a pill that would increase the oygen levels  in ones head can be the answer? No such pill, one would imagine.

2. Stretching/twisting the neck vigorously for about 30 seconds to 1 minute. Found this to be very successful, but again, to continously do tis through the day.....perhaps a daily ritual of neck excersizes would help to make the twitching go away for good.  I have a very thin /pencil neck like

physical appearance so I wonder if it is related?