My wife has been deeply anxious

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi

My wife has become almost cripplingly anxious after she accidentally gave a colleague what she thought was paracetamol she had in her bag but it was in actual fact my co-codemol and her friend reacted badly to the codeine. She took her colleague to hospital and she was monitored and sent home a couple of hours later.

This was 7 months ago and my wife hasn't been able to stop thinking about it and thinks that every time there's anything else wrong with her colleague it must be linked to that and its all her fault. My wife is now having CBT to help her move on from it but i was hoping someone could explain the biological process codeine has and is there any possibility it could cause long term harmful effects that lead to other issues?

I'd dearly like to be able to put my wifes mind at rest and get her back to her old self.

Thanks

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Edited

Hello,

I'm a retired medical professional from the U.S. and I'll respond here to your request in the hopes it can bring more light to the matter at hand.

One of the most critical points that your wife needs to realize is that virtually all of the potentially serious side-effects associated with administration of codeine are those which arise with continued use over extended periods of time. Any relevance to a reaction as a consequence of a single administration of co-codamol is entirely separated from the range of side-effects more often observed in patients.