NAFLD and fibroscan of 11.8

Posted , 2 users are following.

hi I'm new to this so please can anyone offer advise.

Im male 58 years old. 12 months ago I had some routine blood test done as I had a rash under my arm. These showed high ferritin levels which kept increasing with each test. Doc sent me for a liver biopsy which came back with .. Clinical details-'illegible'. Microscopy..consistent with nafld (there I mild portal inflammation, and fatty changes in parenchyma).

doc then sent me for fibroscan which was 11.8kpa.

doc said nothing and says see me again in 6 months.

I get some pain in the back and itchy armpits. 

Any thoughts.

thanks

Wyn

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted

Hi wyn, & fatty liver disease is epidemic now days, so you're not alone.  This said, with a fibroscan of 11.8, your doc should have some sort of treatment options for you.  A referral to a dietitian might be helpful.  

Simple sugars, particularly high fructose corn syrup (sodas are full of this) are more important to reduce than dietary fats.  

The "PIVENS trial" showed Vitamin-E to be helpful in slowing progression of disease.  Look for "Natural" Vitamin-E.  It should say natural on the label.  

High ferritin is common with fatty liver disease, but anytime you get abnormally high ferritin in a test result, a full iron lab which includes "transferrin saturation" (TSAT) would be wise.  TSAT should ideally be in the middle third of the normal range, and not up or over the top.  When ferritin is elevated, & TSAT is high, or near high, a referral to hematology is indicated to see if iron reduction through "therapeutic phlebotomy" might be indicated.  

Iron reduction has been shown helpful in controlling NASH (advanced fatty liver disease).  If you can't get a referral to hematology, you can lower iron on your own through blood donation.   Donate only "whole blood" & not plasma or platelets.  The iron is in the red cells.