nausea with an overactive thyroid.

Posted , 16 users are following.

Hi all

I`ve come to ask advice as last night I had severe nausea a few times during the night. I was retching but not actually sick!  I`m pretty sure my thyroid levels have gone over- active at the moment as I`ve got the `old ` symptoms of hyper, sweating, hungry, needing the loo a lot. I`m taking carbimazole 15 mg a day but I`ve not had a good day yet since I was diagnosed over 3 months ago and put on carbimazole. I`ve got an appointment with my endo on the 10th Sept to discuss what`s next- but in the meantime do I need to be worried about this nausea?

Many thanks 

Joy  

1 like, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi all, I'm new to this thread but thought I would share my Graves disease experiences with you. I've been diagnosed for the last 20 months or so and been on Carbimazole since then. In the early days I started to feel better, mood swings stopped, put some weight back on, the endo guy at the hospital told me I did't need to take beta blockers anymore..... but you must have another blood test which I had late last year. I heard nothing from the surgery so I went down there and a receptionist through a piece of paper at me and said " your levels are normal ". In February this year my dad became very ill with cancer and died within 7 weeks, having been told my levels were normal I stopped taking the tablets for some weeks and put everything with myself on hold to help dad die at home which is what he wanted, the day after his death I got a call from my GP saying your levels are not normal and you need to keep taking the tablets...... moral of the story is perhaps don't get fobbed off by a receptionist. Since then and mourning my dad's passing I've lost even more weight than I did before and am on tablets for depression and been off work now for 4 weeks and may lose my job. They have upped my thyroid tablets so we'll just have to see how it goes. I've never felt so low in my life, i