nearly 4 months post glandular fever- still feeling ill!

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all,

i was diagnosed with glandular fever back in April this year after a short stay in hospital, on top of this i was also diagnosed with asthma and i have also been a type 1 diabetic for 9 years.

After 6 weeks off i went back to work as myself and my partner moved into our first rented house in march (typical!) and we were struggling financially.

My question is, how long does the fatigue and fever/illness last? i was led to believe it would be about 8 weeks but im still having days at work where i physically am dropping off, and i  have to get up and move around because i am falling asleep and really struggling to keep focused (i work as a medical secretary) and this weekend i slept practically all day and night- we attempted to walk the dog on sunday and after half an hour i couldnt hack it and slept for the rest of the day/ night.

I am really struggling here- i have to keep working but after work i just get home and sleep, wake up go to work, get home sleep etc...... and im fed up with it. on top of this i keep getting viral infections/ tonsilitus/ UTI's/ kidney infections! Is this normal? has anyone experienced the same?

Many thanks, Chloe

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Chloe,

You are still very early in the recovery process, so take it very easy, I was diagnosed in October and started feeling better six and a half months later, still have ups and downs, had a mini relapse last week but seem to be feeling better this week. My daughter has had the UTI, virial infections ect. We are all hoping to feel better soon, When you have to work through this illness, it is best to rest as soon as you are off work and on the weekends.

• Posted