Need Advice on Gout Medication

Posted , 5 users are following.

I had a gout flare before and I had not have one for couple years. I had a flare up beginning of December and my Dr. put me on Colchicine and Allopurinol. Colchicine .06mg twice a day as needed. Allopurinol 100mg twice a day. This is my first time being on these medication. I used NSAID for my previous flare up.

I took both Colchicine and Allopurinol as directed for a week and I finally was able to walk. I stopped taking Colchicine per Dr. order and direction of as needed only. My big toe although swelling around joint has subsided it is still tender when I put pressure on it. I continued with my Allopurinol medication.

My question to all is how long should I take the Colchicine? As long as I take Allopurinol? When does one stop Colchicine since it is a as needed medication. Will stopping Colchicine prematurely trigger another gout flare up?

Any advice is very much appreciated. Thank you in advance and I look forward to hearing from all.

0 likes, 26 replies

26 Replies

• Posted

I think you're just about on target, when you can walk again stop the colchicine, and unless there's another flare you just stay on the allopurinol for some time, including at least until your blood tests say your blood urates are down to a normal level.

• Posted

Thank you for your advice. I stopped the Colchicine after a week and the swelling went down but the spot is still tender. I also started taking Allopurinol for the first time with the Colchicine. At the moment, I am only on Allopurinol. However, the tender spot just will not totally go away. The reason I questioned about continuing the Colchicine is I read somewhere that some may get a gout trigger when they first get in the Allopurinol regime. Am I experiencing that? Should I start taking the Colchicine again? Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you all for answering my question and I am glad I found this forum. Seasons Greetings to all.
    • Posted