Need advice on treating Dental Abscess

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello,

I have a dental abscess the size of a brazil nut to the side of the back tooth on my upper left jaw.

I have not been to a dentist - I have no money, only £40 left in the world. There is no way for me to get money - I am trying to sell my few remaining things.

I have lost my job and only have 6 weeks rent paid up in which to turn things around.

There are no friends or family to turn to.

The cost of just the checkup at a dentist is £18 and treatment at least £50 more (source nhs direct)

I cannot pay the fee.

Such is the size of the swelling on the upper palate, I cannot eat any solid food, barely swallow, sleep or, most of the time think - the pain is constant and agonising, even compared to other dental pain I have experienced.

I have 6 painkiller tablets left, but daren't use them.

Please advise how I can treat this myself. If I can get hold of a cheap syringe and sterilise it can I drain the pus myself?

I hope someone has an answer otherwise, well, I don't know what I will do.

Thank you for your time.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Go to the Dental Hospital (or A&E), treatment is free smile
  • Posted

I live in Doncaster, where we have an excellent Dental Unit attached to the hospital. Treatment is not free, but it is much cheaper than a Dentist. You would be best to phone to check charges before you go.
  • Posted

It's completely free if you go to the Dental Hospital in Birmingham,, just make sure you get there very very early (6:30 am) cheesygrin
  • Posted