Need Experienced HS Sufferers Help

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello, I have been suffering from HS for 7 years now, on and off, armpits mostly.

I have a relatively active one recently, which, unlike most times, after draining outside - won't heal back to place! It is protruding pretty bad (no internal fat tissue is hanging this time - just soft pocket covered in skin, maybe has fluid inside - not sure). It's not painful/inflamed at all, just dark colored and prodtruding like a lump, but I am extremely worried - it's protruding like this, uninfected, for 2 weeks now with no sign of change or healing. Doctor doesn't seem to care but it really bothers me. Any thoughts? Anything will help.. Anyone had something like this?

Many thanks,

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi BellaMo, I have one just like that but compared to you I am relatively new to all this. My first outbreak was in March, my first drainage site was at the top of my inner arm and that is where the purple area is, which is like you say, a soft pocket, the skin is very thin over it. Once a fortnight or so since, it raises up and fills with pus, and drains again within 3 days, it is only painful for that 3 days. I wonder if I'm stuck with this one now forever, because it hasn't healed properly in 4 months. 

• Posted

Hi Rachel, thanks so much for sharing.. In my experience, since it's still active with you (flames up again and again) you have a good chance of getting rid of it - in my case they do heal pretty well if you put antibitoics cream and bandage them daily, after 2-3 weeks it should close up with getting re-filled with pus (for me at least). Once, when the antibiotics cream didn't help my doctor also gave me silver containing wound dressing to put on - that helped. 

Good luck!

• Posted