Need help with strange pain where abscess was

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi guys I'm new to this , so please bare with me. I had a perianal abscess drained and packed in June. Since then I have had a constant oozing and days of excruciating pain. I have an appt with the surgeon next week to see if there is a fistula. But that last few days I have had strange random pains that feels like it is shooting up inside me. It's definitely coming from the same area where the abscess was. It can last for a few mins and go again or like today sporadic shooting pains all day. Has anyone else experienced this?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello

Sorry for the late reply. The Patient website has been undergoing a revamp so notifications of new questions have not been emailed out and I have not been able to login until today so I have just seen this now.

It sounds like they did not manage to clean out all the infection but I guess you will know that by now as you will have see the surgeon again by now.

How did you get on? Let us know please.

• Posted

No problem thanks for getting back to me. Yeah I had my appt with the surgeon, and I am booked in for surgery next week for a fistula. They said it's pretty low down so it shouldn't be a major thing. Just wondering now if anyone has a ball park time line of how long I will be out of work? I work in retail and stand all day.

• Posted

Everyone is different. Depends on many things. How big is your wound, how well you cope with pain, how quickly you heal, etc. I would say two weeks but some people are less and some are more.

The more rest you have, lying down try not to move, the quicker it gets a chance to heal. Not easy to do but I found that shortened my healing time considerably.

The other thing is keeping the area extremely clean. Sitz baths if you are allowed and I used the shower head a lot.

If you can face it, up your intake of veg too. It helped me and a few others here are beginning to say the same.