Need motivation.

Posted , 3 users are following.

I'm 30 and somehow got mononucleosis with a peritonsillar abscess 2 weeks ago. I was kept in the hospital overnight and was on clindamycin and prednisone for 10 days. I thought with mono you are suppose to be tired all the time but I'm not in fact I'm struggling to sleep almost every night. I have no energy though and when I do go out and try to work my heart speeds up and my muscles get tight in my shoulder and then I get numb in my arm and face. I don't know if that's mono or if I'm having problems getting over the drugs? My doctors haven't been totally helpful with that. I've been off the prednisone for 5 days tonight cause my doctor told me to get off it when I started to get a rash. I've been off the antibiotic 3 days tonight. Maybe I'm being irrational cause I've never been sick besides common colds but what can I expect? I'm a farmer so just taking it easy isn't always a possibility I need to work so how long till I can start getting my energy? How long does it take to recover from side effects of drugs? I've been taking probiotics and trying to eat healthy. Anybody have any suggestions for me or tips? Sorry for the rambling.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Having no energy is the same as having mono.

and prednisone effects can take a week or more to get better. 

• Posted

Sorry to hear you're feeling rough. Your symptoms sound really normal for mono - I too get the numb face/arm thing on left hand side - doctor thinks may be a swollen lymph node pressing on a nerve. I was on steroids recently too and to be honest it was a tricky ten days when I was first off them but I rested through that time and now feeling much less rough.