Need to know positive outcomes!

Posted , 5 users are following.

8/14/17 I'm almost 2 weeks out from my Achilles tendon rupture surgery. Time is Slow and BORING! Any advice on how anyone has filled time I'm also having surgery on my other tendon next cause that's ruptured at 80% just need to hear some good stuff. Anything will help!

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Wow! You sound like me. Had right Achilles' tendon repair 22.6.17. Now in moonboot. Have a partial thickness tear to left achilles...just hoping that will hold out while I get over my right Achilles injury. Am hoping to return to work on light duties when they can find me 4hrs a day to start with. I'm an ICU nurse so no chance of looking after patients for a while! I sew and bake to amuse myself...just need to pace myself and take boot off to elevate it occasionally! 

• Posted

Hi, not sure I'm understanding this, but you had surgery on one achilles 2 weeks ago and are now awaiting surgery for your other achilles that is also ruptured?! If this is correct, how did this happen?

• Posted

Get caught up on reading, movies, tv shows, take an online course, organize any work or personal business you can do online, encourage friends and fam to phone and visit as often as possible! Get a dog if you don't have one lol! My German Shepherd has been by my side since my rupture 6 weeks ago. My daugher refers to him as Nurse Degen (and luckily my husband takes him for all his walks now, so that requirement is looked after!)

Most of all focus on patience and positive thinking!

• Posted

Netflix and chill!  biggrin  Once I was more mobile and using the knee scooter I went to the gym and lifted weights while sitting on a bench.  Bicep curls, shoulder press, triceps curls behind head, chest press etc.  
  • Posted

Hello, 

I had surgery on May 15th, for fully ruptured achilles. Definitely the 1st two weeks are aggravation and the worst part. Being immobile is really tough.