Nerve damage.

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello everyone,l had 2 discectomies within the last 5 years and ended up having to finish work after 30 years.

I was a class 1 hgv driver but now l suffer with chronic back pain and sciatica. I can nearly walk as it hurts my back putting weight on my leg.Which is nerve damage l,m told. I am on nerve block tablets gabbapentin 3 times a day with zomorph and diazapam as my back sometimes goes into spasm and then l am bed ridden.My wife puts me deep heat muscle rub on every night and it is always the same spot where its swollen. It's right where l have a scar where l had a 2 inch lipoma removed.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi dean

I have nerve damage in my back  . I was due to have opp on 4/5 but instead I had heart attack. My surgeon said she would put it on hold until heart is stable used in the mean time I have had ablutions where they cortisone the nerves . I am taking 2700 mg a day. Plus co codamol . I think that the deep heat could be inflaming your back up ???

Rgrds john

• Posted

Hi,sorry to hear about your heart attack. About the deep heat.It helps ease my pain.I,ve tried ice packs which nearly send me through the roof.

I think the 2 inch lipoma lump which was on the bottom of my back which had been pushing on my muscle where l sat driving 9 and 10hrs a day 6 or 7 days a week.l was having to lean forwards and to the right when driving. It's funny that the pain is in the exact spot.l think it's the nerve in that muscle that's making it inflame.Dean.

• Posted

Hi Dean

Thanks for your reply. Sorry to bore you. I have been on the gabs for several years and they do help to take the edge off the back pain. I have diazepam but only take them when back goes into spasm .Hope you find some comfort god bless john

• Posted