Nerve pain at night

Posted , 10 users are following.

Does anyone else have a hard time sleeping at night because of the nerve pain,it seems like it gets worse when I go to bed.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Yes brutal at night, that first week I was up all night tossing and turning in such pain. I thought I pulled my back out but then the rash surfaced, went to drs and was diagnosed. The majority of pain did let up after I completed the course of the zovirax but I continued with the Motrin or any other type of anti-inflammatory I had on hand which helped. I had it on my hip and still suffer from some swelling in that area but the pain has definitely subsided. I was diagnosed in early February so it's about 90 days/ 3 months now. Good luck

• Posted

Hi Woody. Yes, same here. The night time is the worst. The Amitriptyline taken at night has helped me alot but another simple and non-narcotic solution I have been using for two years now is (crazy as it sounds) a Homedics massager, on LOW setting, laying ON the bed, NOT against your skin or touching you at all, while you sleep. The soft vibration seems to ease the itching/pain sensation. It works for me and it has worked for some other people i've talked to but not for everyone. I found out about it while I was in the hospital. Just make sure it's laying next to you and NOT making ANY contact at all, especially near your outbreak area. Good luck, friend

• Posted

I went through a phase where laying ON my "bad side" (head) almost turned off the pain completely.  I had to wiggle my head "just right" before I found the spot and then didn't move.  It was a godsend but the phase didn't last more than a week or two and then the pain was back 24/7.

• Posted

Hi Woodys,

Night time is the worst for any type of pain, especially Neurogenic and orthopedic. You have probably read the shingles forum on the suggestions.