Nervous about the side effects

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have suffered with anxiety my whole life . I was on ciprlex for 6 years along with xanax .05mg to take as needed and to help me sleep. For the past two years I came off of ciprlex and I was feeling great . Fast forward to around June I noticed my anxiety was coming back so my doctor suggested I take escitalopram same as cipralex just generic. I moved to a bigger city and I work as a retail manager. I also have 2 daughters who moved away just before I came to the big city. I think with all the stress of my job and my girls becoming adults and starting there own life caused alot of stress and anxiety . I took the estilaphram the other night and had the worse panic attack off my life. I woke up with the shakes could not stand the smell of food I would gag . Very dry mouth and my heart was beating out of my chest . This is third attempt I made to take this medication and the feeling was just so horrible. Is this normal to feel this was . It worked amazing before I was kinda shocked at how bad I felt this time . I'm actually scared to take it , but at the same time I want my anxiety to be gone . I don't even like moving out the door now without getting the shakes. Not to mention it feels like my head is in a fog . Any advice for me would greatly be appreciated.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

I am so sorry to hear that you are having such a terrible time, there is nothing worse than a panic attack! (In mu opinion) I am curious what dose you are starting on.
    • Posted

They have me on 20mg but the pharmacy told me to break it in half for 10 mg and I still had horrible side effects .
  • Posted

Hi,

What’s the dose? Consider breaking it in half for a couple weeks, it sounds like it is too strong for you.

• Posted

When I started 4 months ago, my side effects were similar to yours; dry mouth, foggy head and sleepy. They did dissipate over a week or so.
    • Posted