New at stopping

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all, I've never done anything like this before but I think I'm going to need some support over the next few months. I need to, and want to, stop drinking alcohol. When I drink I get aggressive and I don't know when to stop until I'm unconscious. I have an amazing new partner and I want to stop drinking and ruining my relationship before it is too late. This weekend I have drank and drank, pushed him, shouted at him and treated him very badly. I don't want to be that person. When I am sober I'm happy, positive, I have a great job and friends and family. I am a nice person, until the wine comes out. I know I need to stop but I don't know how I am going to do it. Any suggestions on how to cope with what lies ahead?

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

You have made the first step, and you have come to the right place smile

You have to keep yourself busy, do what ever it takes not to drink.

Have you seen a doctor?

You might want too, there are different meds out there that can help.

How often do you drink?

good luck to you and stay strong smile

• Posted

Thank you Sue. I can go all week with nothing, then it gets to Saturday night and I get past 2/3 drinks and I can't stop, or won't stop, or don't know when I stop. I haven't seen a doctor yet, I'm planning to call first thing tomorrow morning and speak to her about options, I don't really know what to do or where to turn. Hence this step! Them you for taking the time to reply smile
  • Posted

Hi saffron, you've come to the right place for support, I've found this forum a great help since I started tackling my addiction a few weeks ago.

Many of us on here are using Selincro or naltrexone which cuts cravings and allows you to have 1 or 2 drinks and leave it there. Have a read through some of the other posts talking about these drugs and you'll see they've worked really well for most people.....

Good luck :-)

• Posted