New ct scan results

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey all adding more from last discussion I've just had a ct scan done only had MRI scan last time original diagnosis disc bulges from L4 through to S1 severe pain numbing etc today's results talk about moderate disc degeneration of L4,5 and S1 with narrowing of the spinal canal going for a nuclear bone scan anyone shed any light what this diagnosis means symptoms are severe pain from around bottom of buttocks to mid back weak legs with right leg falling away every now and than pins needles in feet lately pain to shoulder blades and right arm

1 like, 21 replies

21 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Wayne, I have DDD, and have had fusion years ago, still have back pain which affects legs.

Google   micro motion. There is a really interesting item on spine health, about inflammatory proteins that leak from damaged discs. It's worth a read.

• Posted

Basically I'm no doctor so don't take this as advice or true expertise but basically you have a lot of issues along your spine it seems. The fact that you have degeneration at s1 makes me wonder if a spondylitis diagnosis was ever mentioned? Narrowing of the spinal canal can definitely be the reason for many of your symptoms.The fact that you are getting a nuclear scan tells me that your doctor is being thorough which is always a good thing. A nuclear scan can evaluate "hot spots" of activity going on in your body which would indicate such things like inflammation, possible malignancy, bone turnover, etc. I would encourage you to always get a second opinion once a diagnosis is made and treatment plan established. It's always a good thing. Have you had blood labs done yet?

• Posted

No bloods well not for about 10 months when I was seeing a different doctor this doctor seems very thorough which is good hopefully get some news soon thanks for your advice much appreciated
  • Posted

A nuclear bone scan sounds interesting. Sounds like you have a good DR.