new girl in town. sigh

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello all, I am new here. I went to the hospital early Friday morning because I thought I might be having a stroke. Turns out I have shingles on my face. I did not yet have the rash but could feel the bumps under my skin. I have seen the optometrist and all is ok there, and the rash is now out and while painful not overwhelming yet (or maybe it won't be) I have a splitting headache that worsens when I move around too much so I'm keeping it calm. My question is, is it possible for some people to not have the pain that others have? Or... is it just early? I have the rash but so far no yucky oozy stuff. I am also a teacher and first day of school is Tuesday this week. I just can't decide what to do about work. Thanks for any insight. Oh and yes I am on day 2 of an antiviral. Valacyclover 1000mg 3x a day.

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

As a retired teacher, I can't imagine how you will be able to teach next week.  Rest is an important key to managing shingles.  I guess every case is different and if you got on the anti-viral meds within 72 hours, you should have an easier time than most of us.  A friend of mine who had shingles recently said that blue emu cream really helped him.

• Posted

Hi Laurie!

I am sorry you are going through this process!

While I am glad you are not having a stroke, (I've had two), Herpes Zoster Shingles is one of the most painful afflictions of mankind. Did you have or have facial drooping and have a severe headache on one side of your face?