new member cataract

Posted , 6 users are following.

hi i have been on sterioids whih has caused a cataract, has anyone else experienced this as im scared of surgery but vision is very blurred in one eye - thank you for listening 

2 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Prev
  • Edited

Hi. I am not a health professional I am just a patient. I was very mucjh in your shoes about 18 months ago, absolutely terrified because my father had to have this operation, they messed up, it left him in agony for a couple of days. The more I see posts like yours and anothe ron here the more I think I ought to write down my experiences as an e-book and give it to the UK RNIB because now I have a very, VERY different outlook.

I will not trivialise the procedure, it can be very frightening to think about. I can give you details if you like. The worst bit for me was waiting to have th eoperation (almost a year) and then waiting while the eye drops take effect !!

They took me in sat me down put those orrible stinging drops in the eye to open the iris up all the way, four lots, over a couple of hours. All the time you are worrying (!!!). Your vision goes even more blurred. It is really a mental thing now, mind over matter and all that.

They take you into a room, lie you on a trolley and run the same sort of local anaesthetic - in drop form - your dentist uses on a cotton swab to numb the gum for a back tooth injection.

Then they asked me to look up and awat while they put a tube throught he side of the white of the eye and ran a load of anaesthetic and blocker in.

Now your vision fades to fog and you can't move your eye.

They take you into the theatre and in the case of the royal gwent newport here comes the most critical part fo the whole operation. They have to turn the trolley round so you go in head first, iotherwise you leave minus a toenail ...

By now you're all worked up and freaked, yeah ?