New symptoms after doing endoscopy

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hello guys

I had an endoscopy done 2 days ago and right after i sedation effect went off i started feeling pain in my upper part of my stomach right behind my chest With shortness in breathing. I never had these symptoms before. The only thing i was suffering from is digesting probs which happen once in a while. The endoscopy results show that i have hernia. I really regret doing endoscopy i was all fine.

The question i have is whether these complications are normal after endoscopy or did my stomach got infected? I have online that these things could happen but none mentioned what to do if you experience this

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi, Yes this is quite normal though it doesn't happen to everybody. (I'm a former nurse btw.) It won't be due to an infection, just the various manipulations that were done during the endoscopy. It's highly unlikely you have suffered any permanent damage.

If the pain suddenly get worse, or if you start to have black, sticky diarrhoea resembling tar, then you should see a doctor immediately. However, if the latter hasn't started within a couple of days of the procedure there's very little possibility it will start now.

• Posted

Hello lily

Thank you for your response

Is it possible that endoscopy might cause hiatal hernia? Because i started developing hiatal hernia symptoms right after endoscopy. It has been a week now

Thank u

• Posted

Hi Alid, I wouldn't have thought that the endoscopy would have caused the hiatal hernia, or even made it worse. This is caused by a weakness in the diaphragm, and I don't see how passage of an endoscope could have affected the diaphragm in any way.