new to all of this , and kind of lost

Posted , 5 users are following.

Your knowledge and experience will be much appreciated.

Like I said, I’m new to AS. Still going through the process of being diagnosed. and I have a ton of questions and not much access to my doctor since I live in France this days for work and I don’t speak the language just enough to get him .

I’ve had pain for a few years now , and it was mistakenly diagnosed as Fibromyalgia , having had an idiot for a doctor who refused to give me any test aside from a physical (no X-ray or MRI ) so I suffered quietly , thinking I have FMS and thinking it has no actual treatment . the past year the pain got a lot worst , and I decided to try my luck with some medication for FMS ( to this point I tried mostly alternative medicine), so I went to see a new Rheumatologist here in France , and he said it isn’t FMS , and probably never was , he said it’s probably Spondylitis , and he sent me to get some X-rays of the sacroiliac (I guess you are all familiar with the procedure ) and they came back positive for spondyloarthritis , and now I need to get an MRi to complete the picture ,

I wonder what kind of information the MRI will give him? since I was told that the having had a positive XRAY means the arthritis is a more advanced and that an MRI is good for when the XRAY is negative .

Also wonder if the fact that there is signs of inflammation in the sacroiliac means it’s going to develop into complete AS.

At the moment I’m taking Naproxen , which helps , I’ve been able to sleep for the first time in years , and the pain has reduced very much , but not completely , I’m not able to do any kind of physical activity , and the doctor has said that physical therapy is no good for spondy , so he said I should just go swimming …. Nothing else .

I’m 29 and I’m tired of incompetent doctors who gamble with my life, I don’t want to end up in a wheelchair because of them … any thoughts in the matter? 

1 like, 13 replies