New to AS

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi All, I am a newbie to AS.

I was diagnosed a few weeks back based upon a positive B27 gene and sacroilliac and Thoracic inflamation. I originaly went to my Doctor for a bad viral infection but now I am AS.

The fatigue is hitting me pretty hard. I attempted to go to my works Christmas party at the weekend and ended nearly asleep in the corner of a club. Before you say it, it was not the Alcohol smile

I am looking for some advice on a few things:

1) I also have Hemolytic Anemia. This was detected at the same time I went for the viral infection. Has anybody else had hemolytic anemia diagnosed with AS?

2) During testing, the doctors discovered auto antibodies for SP100 (mainly associated with Billary Cirrohsis), however I had no evidence for liver disease. Anybody had exp with this?

3) Has anyone had any luck with Allergy testing and nutrional therapy for inflammation reduction?

Thanks

T

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Try Vitamin D spray - D-lux was prescribed by my consultant.  Now also available in chemists, not just online!
  • Posted

Hi Tim

My story is long so I will summarise in bullets -

- joint pains in neck, back, hip, shoulders, headaches, tiredness age 17

- my Dad has AS with fused sternum, back, neck, hip replacements (drugs made him worse and screwed up his guts)

- mother took me to private doctor (Dr. J Mansfield) when I was about 19 was put on a trial for dietary therapy (elimination diet). It helped but I personally did not commit to it!

- went gradually down hill until age 26, gradually stiffer neck, sore hips, limp - but tried to keep fit with exercise and fought it.  Ribs and sternum and shoulder blade the most trouble for me - very sore at times.  I used to come from work and sleep!