New to Diverticulitis need liquid diet help

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have no clue what to eat. What are some soft food suggestions. With my flare ups I am in the bathroom with severe abdominal pain. Sometimes up to 10 times a day. Just finished 7 days of antibiotics. 4 days after taking the last one, well today I had a flare up. This is hard to deal with. I am a very busy sales manager and I feel I have no control of my life. Thanks for any advice.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Mashed potatoes no skin applesauce jello boiled chicken or crockpot ( eat small amounts to make sure you can tolerate broth preferable bone broth check out mayo clinic soft food diet Good luck to you
  • Posted

Did you doctor give you an antispasmodic as in Bentyl?  That will help with the cramping and I think you need a probiotic to settle your intestines from the antibiotics.  I took Florestor which really helped with the diarrhea.  Soft foods as in potatoes, carrots and stay away from hard to digest meats.  Chicken, ground beef and use a crockpot to cook.  No skins at all!  They are hard to digest so peel all fruits. It takes time and patience but once you get your system balanced you will start to feel better.  Take care and know this support group will help you.❤️
    • Posted

I have been on Bentyl for 6 years. I was diagnosed with IBS many years ago. I am going to grab a pro biotic tomorrow. Feels good to know others are going through this and we can help support one another. Thanks
  • Posted

I agree with what everyone else has said on this thread. 

Keep in mind that foods can have different results on different people so pay attention to what you drank or ate prior to episodes. 

Also, the antibiotics they put me on caused some of my stomach cramping too, which is different from an actual flare up. 

A heating pad also helped me when I slep at night. I used one with an automatic shutoff timer.