New to heartburn, but scared to take Omeprazole

Posted , 8 users are following.

A little background as I'm new to the experience of heartburn.

Just recently within the last year have I began feeling heart burn symptoms. Back in June I had some burning in my chest that ended up radiating to my back in between my shoulder blades. It eventually went away. As I had began to feel it around the same time i experienced my first unbearable anxiety attack.

but just a few days ago I began to feel it again, and quite intensely. Some burning in my chest, but mainly a burning in between my shoulder blades. It's been hell. I managed to get into a doctor at my regular doctor office, instead of doing urgent care or the ER, but he tells me he feels like it's heartburn. He proceeds to write me a prescription for, as he puts it, a high dose of Omeprazole (40mg) tells me to take it for the next month, if things aren't better or are getting worse in the next two weeks to come in. Long story short, I've read, and heard some scary things about Omeprazole and I'm not sure if i really want to go that route immediately. I haven't started taking them yet, and yesterday the burning was really bad, but has subsided today. I'm 24, and already a type 1 diabetic, so I want to take good care of myself, but I'm scared of taking Om. and getting worse other symptoms from taking it in general.

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Omeprazole is fine short term i think thats what it is really used for is short term use. ive been on and off it for the best part of 2 years and only side effects were mild fpgfy head and constipation but a laxative can sort that out. best to try it of the docs thing you need it, especially if you are struggling with the acid! have you changed your diet to try and help? im 26 so i can understand why its frustrating for you being so young and dealing with acid reflux or heartburn, i think its our bodies way of telling us we aren't kids anymore!

• Posted