New to Prozac.....

Posted , 88 users are following.

Hi everyone, As the title suggests I'm new to Prozac, 1 week today to be precise. I would really like to hear some success stories (I find reading positive stories about a drug help me), they don't have to be in depth, just a simple .... 'yes they worked' 'took X amount of time to kick in' 'be prepared to feel worse at the beginning' etc etc. I know it's early days for myself but in the first week I've had one very good day but today feel pretty lousy... awful tight chest at the moment. All replies will be gratefully appreciated.....many thanks Luke

4 likes, 220 replies

220 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Luke!

Hang in there it's very early days! I'm in the 5th week of taking Prozac and things have got better for me. I do get the odd set back now and again but nothing as bad as 4 weeks ago. Good luck. Jade x

• Posted

Ah nice one, thanks for replying Jade, yeah very early days I know! What dosage are you taking?..... I'm on 20mg first two weeks then 40mg.... thanks again Jade x

• Posted

No worries, glad to help I know how tough it is! I'm on 20mg at the mo, will be getting it reviewed this week, I've been doing ok on it lately so I'm guessing the gp will keep it at 20. What side effects have you been getting? X

• Posted

Well tbh I don't think I've had any.... yet! Other than maybe increased anxiety, although it's always hard to tell wether that's a side effect or not! Thanks again Jade X

• Edited

Ok Luke here's my story.

June last year i stepped on board the prozac train, very reluctantly. 8 months on i feel absolutley great, no side effects except mild aching joints & muscles (initially they were awful) no more panic or anxiety attacks, no more OCD over my health, for the first time in years i have a totally chilled and relaxed attitude, nothing bothers me and i can't remember the last time i got aggro or angry.