New to Self catheterization questions.

Posted , 7 users are following.

I'm on my 3rd day of self cathing. If I use a hydrophilic catheter, is it ok to also add some lubricant to the first inch or so? I know it defeats the purpose of a hydrophilic type...but is there any harm in adding lubricant?

The reason I ask is I started with the Speedicath coude tip catheter and had to switch to a hydrophilic type (at least temporarily because of what was available locally) and the first time I used it, it didn't seem to go in as smoothly.

Also, any opinions on the brand: Gentlecath Glide coude tip hydrophilic catheter size 14.

Thanks for any advice, this forum has helped me a lot this week!

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I've been doing CIC for over 3 years now and only use the Speedicath 14fr coude hydrophilic catheter. I've done over 4200 self-caths so far with my huge 300cc prostate.

When I started I had a lot of trouble getting the catheter through my large prostate so i started adding some lube just as you described. I hand the catheter on the wall and pull the sleeve down about 1/3 of the way and then add a small amount of Surgilube and let it settle for a moment. When I remove the catheter I slowly twist it so the lube evenly coats it. It has made a huge difference for me over the years.

I was also told at the beginning not to add lube to a hydrophilic catheter. But in reality the lube actually adds an additional water coating to the catheter which makes it slide in easier. I confirmed this for myself under the microscope back then.

So go ahead. And remember jimjames "dive bomb" technique! Howard

• Posted

Well, I'm no doc, but can tell you I used a little lubricant, long as it is sterile, you sure don't want to introduce any germs into your interior plumbing

• Posted

Howard and Doug, thank you very much for your quick and very helpful replies!

When at home, do you use disposable gloves or just carefully wash your hands?

Thanks again,

Darrel