New to Sertraline - anxiety, obsessional thoughts, dry mouth

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi, I am 29 years old and have recently been prescribed 50mg sertraline for anxiety related problems. First few days I was on it I felt great, maybe a bit spaced out if anything. I'm now in to days 19, 20, and 21 and my anxiety feels almost worse than ever. On and off I get hot flushes, rapid heart rate, and pretty much constant dry mouth. I have also had occurrences of obsessional negative thoughts. I'm doing my best to keep plugging away at work, but am currently finding it difficult to keep focused. Can anyone else relate to this? I'm new to the sertraline scene so am finding it all a bit over-whelming. Thanks!

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Murray.  Do you think the sertraline is causing the symptoms or do you think the symptoms are the anxiety.   You could try deep breathing or relaxation, lots of videos on you tube can help you with that.   If you think it’s a side effect of the med, then perhaps have a chat with your gp.  Sertraline shouldn’t be making you feel worse this far in so perhaps you need a higher dose or even a different med.  the point is, your gp is aiming at you seeing better days, if that’s not happening then don’t settle for what you have.  X 
  • Posted

Hi Murray, 

Your not alone, I think your great if your holding down a job as well as feeling like you do,

I have also had horrendous thoughts and utter sadness, However, they have subsided a bit.

It does get better I’m sure, it’s just that it takes a long time for Sertraline to kick in i’ve been informed. 

Please try and hang in there your not alone.

One minute i’m laughing the next i’m crying that’s what Depression and Anxiety is, oh also I have OCD, 

Coping, fighting, and trying to beat this.

Where all doing it together.

You will feel better Murray i’m Sure.

God bless you.🙏

• Posted