New to T3 great to start but now back to feeling mega tired

Posted , 3 users are following.

I started on a very small dose of T3 (5mcg x2 per day plus Levo) first couple of weeks saw small energy increase which now seems to have stopped and back to feeling tired out! Also had a few headaches. Is this normal until the dosage is sorted properly?? One good thing though is my IBS seems slightly improved!!!! I know these things take time but would appreciate your advice!! Thanks in advance guys 😄

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Wendy. I'm sorry I can't offer any advice as I'm new to the whole thyroid journey. I did want to ask you though. Why are you on T3 as well? Is that what is normally given for hypothyroidism? Just wondering what to expect!! I hope you get some good advice. Taz
    • Posted

Hi Taz Tigs no T3 not usual currently thyroid sufferers are petitioning to make it a recognised treatment in the UK. I have been hypo for 13 years and always tired etc.... So needed alternative treatment. Try not to worry tho many people feel much much better with the prescribed T4 (levothyroxine) it's just that one or two of us don't fit the usual! I'm sure your GP will start you on low doses of Levo which will build up gradually following blood tests (arghhh still hate needles!!) good Luck its a nasty disease but hopefully you will be one of the lucky ones!!
    • Posted

Thank you Wendy2014. It's awful what our poor bodies go through. I hope your doctor is supportive and understanding. It's tough as you have to try and get on with life I.e. go to work ..Do family stuff. Last Tuesday I could barely get out of bed. I felt shivery and dragged myself to work. I was soon happy this morning that I could stay in bed for a bit.

Thanks again Taz x

• Posted