New to this

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi there I am a male almost 48 gay and have sevral medical conditions fibromyalgia etc etc then nov last year over night started bleeding gp arranged cons appt at hosp but for 10 wks away another gp rushed it through dec last yr 2014 had flex sig and 8 biopcies painful or what 24hrs of ouch!  thinking cancer I was in a state so after chasing results at hosp cons sec said no cancer but Proctitis! + they will make appt to see me in clinic!  Then no one tells me gp were sent script for pentasa supps 1g nocte! good job I am a nurse so started them 9 days ago thought was getting a bit better for 2 days then today day 9 back to same old.

I have had no advice/support etc for this, and after my flex sig done by a nurse, have not even seen cons they say will be seen in due course and to continue use of supps till seen in clinic.

Can I just thank ALL of you for all the posts I know they are 1yr old BUT for me I feel I am not alone!  I almost cried when I read them and rather than feeling s**t scared etc I felt phew other folk men/women etc in the same boat.  Not sure where/what will come my way but these posts have been so helpful and supportive reading.  Many thanks R x 

2 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi RJ

My name is Jon and my wife Marie is suffering with UC having read what your going through, I would advise you to book an appointment with the consultant that deals with your case, this can be arranged through the PALS service at the hospital.

They would tell you all the facts and advice that you need to know.

I wish you all the best of luck with this and would urge you to keep us informed of your progress on this.

Thank you

Jon and Marie 13689

• Posted

Hi Jon

many thanks for this I hope your wife is in remission and keeps well and will keep you informed Cheers R smile

• Posted

Hi RJ

Thanks for your reply Marie is finding things a bit easier due to her medication but not fully settled yet.