New to this condition

Posted , 6 users are following.

I am relatively new to this condition. My main current concern is the pain and numdness down my left arm and hand. Wondering if anyone has tried a neck support pillow. Have been looking at Tempur ones but as they are very expensive, I'd appreciate any possible feedbeck on them first. Maddy

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Maddy, Im brand new to it too.

Im waiting for the x-ray appointment at the hospital, and also for an osteo to get in touch for exercises, maniupulation and posture training (??) so at the moment Im a bit in no mans land. The doctor just said take pain killers until he gets the results back from the x-ray etc., but thats about a month away - and a month is a long time with the permanent ache I have in my left arm.

Using deep heat spray, painkillers and heated bags does not seem to be doing much of a trick at the moment other than making my office smell like a rugby players changing room.

At the weekend - in desparation - I rolled up a thin pillow in a kind of sausage shape and popped it under my neck, and it really seemed to ease the pain and I was able to sleep quite well for the first time in ages. It makes me think that the postuform pillows and similar probably will help. I will be searching for a good value one I think and take it from there.

• Posted

I've been sleeping on a Dunlopillo neck pillow for a number of years now and I'm sure it's beneficial. It's a shaped heavy foam pillow that you have beneath your normal pillow.
  • Posted

I tend to try and fall aslepp on my back with my heat bag around my neck and firmish pillow. I also wrap the heat bag around my neck if I wan to lie on my side and this seems to help. The heat also helps me to fall asleep when i'm in pain, kind of a comfort i guess.
  • Posted

HI,