New to this - just discharged from hospital with a few questions.

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello - I'm completely new to this disease, and I was relieved to find this forum. I was just discharged from the hospital last night after 4 days. My diagnosis was "complicated diverticulitis"; with a micro-perforation. The surgeons took a conservative  approach and pumped me full of antibiotics, saying that if my WBC came down I would not need emergency surgery with the temporary bag, and instead could  wait and have laparoscopic surgery that would only require 1 overnight in the hospital. So that's where I'm at right now. My question is, while the pain in my lower left abdomen has largely subsided, I have pain and what  I think feels like a hard mass in my upper right side right under my ribs. It's pushing on my diaphragm and very uncomfortable, but not super painful. Although the rest of my entire front side feels like  I just did 2000 ab crunches at the gym, but I think that's muscular pain - does that sound right? Anyway I'm more wondering if anyone has experience with developing pain/pressure in the upper right side and if this is something I should be concerned enough about to call about immediately, or if could  wait until my follow-up with my doctor, which will be within 48 hours. For anyone who's delivered a baby, I feel like I have a 7 pound baby pushing up on my diaphragm and making me short of breath on my right side, which is exactly what my now 20-year old did when she was in there. I've had bowel  movements today - diareah, so have not taken the stool softener they sent me home with. So that's my other question - should I take the stool softener anyway? I appreciate advice from anyone who's interested in responding.  Also,  I'm 50 years old,  in otherwise  excellent health, and only just found out I had diverticula when I had my first colonoscopy lat summer but didn't think much of it, was just happy I didn't have cancer. Thank you!