Newbie and a 1000 questions on my mind about!!

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi newbie hereagain! just wondering 10th day on pentasa supps 1g when they may begin to work to stop/reduce bleeding?  Found out last nite fizzy drink and a bar of chocolate does not agree with proctitis!!!  No idea when ill be sent appt to see cons at hosp or whatother meds they may try so at the mo only on the supps and paracetamol  [sad]

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Whilst you are flaring up fizzy drinks and chocolate are a definite no-no, as are things with too much insoluble fibre or are likely to irritate your bowel - the pentasa and Asacol metalazine drugs are more effective if you can do as much as you can to reduce the irritation and inflammation as they need to stay in the colon. They won’t do this if you are having diarrhea or loose stools as the pills are timed release for they hit the colon.

You IDB nurse will have a good leaflet on diet but I strongly recommend going to the Crohn’s and Colitis UK website or even just googling diet advice for colitis as diet makes a huge difference when you are flaring up and without changing it whilst you are bleeding and having diarrhea/loose stools you will have a slower remission or even get worse, as I discovered.

Cut out fruits over than peeled Apples and Pears, caffeine, insoluble fibres like bran and roughage, fried food and focus on eating lots of protein with root vegetables, jelly is good, too.

It will only be for a while but it is better than being sick.

• Posted

Hi Many thanks for this will check out the website and take your suggestions on board it's so hard at present coming to terms with it all and dealing with bleeding, pain, bloating etc etc so any advice folk give is always welcome Cheers R 
  • Posted