Newbie here. My Husband has diverticulitis but i am concerned that it something more sinister.

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi.

my husband has had several bouts of Diverticulitis which antibiotics seem to help. over the last 6 weeks he has been on very strong antibiotics and a steroid.

He is complaining of bad pain under his rib on the left hand side which really concerns me.

His doctor has referred him for an ultrasound scan and colonoscopy but living in Ireland this can take ages to happen. he refuses to go to A&E. i think he is afraid of what the results might show.

I am going out of my mind with worry and have not slept in weeks.

Could any one here tell me if they suffer from rib pain die to Diverticulitis.

He is 50 years old with Asthma, arthritis in back and neck, severe sleep apnea (waiting on delivery of Cpac machine) and Diverticulitis.

Any help or advice will be so appreciated

Thank you.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

My wife is suffering terribly at this moment - so for me questions i ask is

When did this pain start- at a particular time or event ?

Did this pain come at the time of the flare up ?

Is this pain constant ? - Consistent suggest not Divertic

Does this pain change or get worse/better at certain times/events ie eating

Diet all the usual here, bland is best, food diary and maybe any windease tablets may help

I am no doctor the scan is the next steps for sure - if you can afford it privately it will be done in days.

Like you witnessing this feeling helpless is a killer-

if this does subside quickly then A&E maybe the only choice

Good luck

• Posted

Thanks Kevin.

i am sorry that your wife is suffering with this awful illness. it is indeed horrible to see your loved one in pain.

his pain on the lower left side is all ways there for several months but he only mentions it when the pain increases.