Newbie, needs advice and support, feeling scared

Posted , 10 users are following.

ive just started on my way to giving alcohol up.

ive been drinking 20 units a day for 13 years.

ive been to a drug and alcohol centre 4 days ago and this is the first time ive ever reached out for help, the advisor who took my details says i have to taper down slowly due to the amount i drink, im waiting to see a professional advisor/nurse etc in the meantime.

ive only reduced by a small amount and the trouble is i cant get enough alcohol down, since day one of tapering, i dont even want to look at alcohol, and everytime i try to drink it i feel nauseous and want to vomit, so i just cant get enough of it down, so im nowhere near the amount i should be drinking to stop withdrawal effects which im experiencing.

has anyone ever had this happen and how did you deal with it ?

also i have a pain under the bottom of my left rib cage which radiates around to my back, has anyone ever had that happen ?, ive had it for a very long time but been to scared to talk to anyone about it 1. because ive been to ashamed to tell my doctor and 2. ive been terrified it might be really bad damage and if its something very bad i dont think i would want to know, if its something that im going to die from as i would just give up completely, how ever i will tell the professional i am waiting to see all about this now.

im not expecting professional advice on here as i know thats not what the site is for, just looking to see if anyone has experienced things like this, and looking for some support, as im so worried it might be to late already from the signs i am feeling in my body.

its a terrifying thing to actually having to do and deal with this thing.

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

My partner says her advice is to drink it, be sick (and get it over with) and then you'll be able to drink the alcohol.