Newly diagnosed

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all, after about 7 weeks of swollen, painful joints i have just been diagnosed with RA. I have been put on 2 different DMARDs and was given a steroid injection in my bum to tide me over until those start working. The day after the steroid i felt so much better and was able to walk and use my hands without pain. However, that seemed to be short lived and the pain is back. I need some advice on how to reduce the pain. Rest? Gentle exercise? Anti-inflammatories? Heat (I have an infrared lamp)? Cold? What about diet (I am vegan)? I have never smoked, rarely drink alcohol and I am not overweight. I am new to this, so any advice on managing the pain would be welcome.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I take tumeric and CBD oil along with my meds

• Posted

thanks, i forgot to ask about suppliments. i am taking turmeric, omega 3, 6, 7 and 9, ginger, garlic and bromalaine.

• Posted

hi suki, im so sorry you have had this diagnosis, unfortunatly you are on a long road and what it seems to be is trial and error, they try you on the weaker cheaper drugs at first as these may be enough to control your sysmptons, these also have less side effects that the other heavier tings like Methotrxate and biological therapy. If you can arm yourself with as much information and research as possible and what works for others may not work for you, take each day as it comes and take plenty of painkillers as you need then, you might have to take other supplements for eg you may need laxatives from the painkillers, listen to your body and if says rest then rest, if you maybe feel a little better try a gentle swim or walk. Dont expect others to understand as they will not!!! good luck on your journey and by the way there is very good new stuff on the market that may put you in remission and be low disease activity so things may not be all doom and gloom x

• Posted