Newly diagnosed with fibromyalgia

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie and I totally need some advice or tips on how to live with fibromyalgia. I was diagnosed about 3 weeks ago but not really given much info from my GP. I've suffered from depression for around 7 years and chronic pain for about 5, I have been on loads of different antidepressants and pain killers with none of them really helping. I'm currently taking 200mg of sertraline and 300mg twice daily of Pregabalin. I also take Zapain four times a day. These help better than the others but I'm still struggling with pain each day, I work but I feel like it's draining ever you ce of energy I have but I just can't afford to give up, I'm exhausted all the time, I'm an emotional wreck and I'm fed up if not feeling lime me anymore. Does it ever get better? I feel like I've been given this diagnoses and then been told to go and get on with it. I don't know what this means for me? Sorry to go on but I just need somebody who understands.

bev xx

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Hun 

Welcome to the fibro world ! I work too and just try to manage each day. Fibro has so many different things . If you get an ache or pain I think it's prob fibro and tue and tak things calmly. When you get the diagnosis you think great I have a diagnosis and then f**k what do I do now ? You can't either learn to pace yourself and rule it or let it

Take over . Keep positive which I know is b hard work bit it does help. Learn what you can do on different days and just keep going xxx hugs and remember you're you and fibro second xxxx 

• Posted

Thanks so much, you're exactly right about it being great when you get a diagnoses then not really knowing to to deal with it. 

I'm taking every day as it comes, some easier than others.

I know I'll figure it out and keep on being me.

thanks again for your reply xx

• Posted