Newly diagnosed with hypothyroidism 5 wks ago, need advise please

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, i was diagnosed with hypothyroidism 5wks ago after a blood test which even my own doctor thought would come bac as ok. After diagnosis, it was found that i actually had been suffering quite a number of symptoms. My doctor put me on 25mcg levothyroxine per day for 14 days, then to double it to 50mcg which i was on for 21 days, i have been put on 100mcg from today. I am back in 2weeks for another blood test. How long does it take for to start feeling a difference as i am still so tired all the time, the weight is still going on even though i am only on one small meal a day, some days i actually miss food altogether as have slept most of the time but weight keeps going on. I dont know my levels etc as doctor never told me and as i am new to all this and have very little knowledge i didnt think to ask, but will ask all about it at my next appointment. Can someone please help and advise me.

thank you

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I was diagnosed with Sub clinicla hypothyroidism, less than 2 weeks ago. My Thyroid function tests (TSH) over the last 2 years was increasing and my doctor did not say anything!!!.

When I saw another doctor, she ran some tests and when she got the results told me I had an under active thyroid. She put me on Oroxine 50 mcg which I have been on for 9 days, (I take it in the evening). This is all new to me too.

I also suffered a number of symptoms, which I put down to menopause.

I go back in 4 - 5 weeks to assess my levels.

Some people take longer to feel better. I still feel tired, but on the up side, now I know why it is so hard for me to loose weight. I have just joined Jeny Craig. Lost 3 kgs, 9 too go.