newly diagnosed with vesicular vertigo silent migraine

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi new to this page and looking for advice and guidance

16 months ago I suffered out of the blue a vertigo drop left me in a real state, from this I have suffered from weekly attacks of dizziness vertigo being incredibly off balanced and tinnitus, this has cost me my job as I drove for a living thrown me into the minefield of the benefits which I hate but I'm thankful they are there for this situation.

After numerous doctors and tests an ent consultant has diagnosed vesicular vertigo silent migraine I never get headaches so incredibly shocked to hear migraine

I have been placed on amitriptyline tablets they improve very slightly my day to day balance problems but I'm still suffering from attacks which are spontaneous in nature but start with severe nausea wrenching unbelievable dizziness and vertigo and severe off balancing

Does anyone have any similar condition what helps you have you managed to get back to work

As this condition has made me almost a prisoner?r in my home as I can't walk more than 15 mins without looking as if I'm drunk I also find it impossible to go into shops as the bright lights set my symptoms immediately off

Any advice truly appreciated

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Have you looked into Menieres? It's the first thing I thought when you mentioned your symptoms. Des usually suggest a very strict low sodium diet. They can also do other treatments is that's the case. Some will prescribe diuretics if necessary. Just a thought. Drink lots of water regardless. Hope that's helpful.
  • Posted

Menieres was my first thought as well.  What is your age and is there anything that you do that sets the vertigo off?  Certain head movements, bending over, etc.  Or do they just happen out of the blue?
    • Posted