Nightshades

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all, so I took the plunge and on Monday I cut out night shades from my diet.

I've suffered with HS for over 20 years but this last year or so it has got completely out of control and I'm in constant pain. I'd never heard of nightshade till I joined this group a few weeks ago and even then I wasnt convinced (only because I love spuds and chips and pizza etc etc) anyway after spending last weekend in pure agony and barely able to walk and cring with pain, I thought enough is enough I'll try anything, so I got up on Monday morning and that was it.

I have to say I feel so positive about it already in this short time a lot of the inflammation has gone down and the pain is very little in fact practically zero I am absolutely shocked.

As I'm new to it all I'm still leaning so all advice welcome. Think I hid a bit of a stumbling block yesterday. Friday night is our takeout night and I normally have pizza so thought I'd have Chinese last night instead just had chicken fried rice and prawn crackers but have this morning that familiar pain under my arm so I'm guessing there was something in it I shouldn't have had. What do you guys eat if having a take away the other thing Ive been looking for is an alternative to crisps, I thought corn snacks but any I've looked at have paprika any suggestions there also welcome!

Anyone who's putting it off or thinking no Im not doing that honestly give it a go, the results alone will keep u motivated.

2 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Andypandy76. It was so good to read your post, I hope it encourages others to try cutting out night shades. I've been cutting them out for a good while, after reading someone's post on this forum. It has worked really well for me too. I still get them from time to time, but I do sometimes give in and have chips or some other forbidden nightshade. It's always the favourites that seem to be the culprits. I love tomatoes, peppers and potatoes.