No motivation.

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi there, I am new to this and am hoping some of you will have some tips on getting myself moving again.

I have suffered most of my adult life with varying degrees of depression. However the last few years have become significantly worse. In the last 6months I have ceased to function almost entirely, resulting in my husband taking time off work to care for our three children. I'm ashamed to say that a lot of my days are spent in bed.

I am on antidepressants and in counselling. Which are definately helping to improve my mood but I still can't seem to get myself up and about. I feel as if I've forgotten how to live. When I do get up I feel like a fish out of water and don't know quite what to do what to do with myself.

In the past I've pushed myself to do the normal daily things when I'm not up to it and this has always lead to me taking a sharp downward spiral. I have taken several overdoses and harmed myself. This has never been to end my life but more on impulse out of sheer desperation.

Any tips would be great as my kids deserve a functioning Mum and my husband needs his wife and to be able to get back to work.

2 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Dear Just

It breaks my heart to read your post. It takes very little imagination to understand the various knock-on effects of the way you are feeling.

With every single atom of my being, I wish I could tell you there was a magic bullet for this, but I can't. What has motivated my response is not so much because I have the answers, but because at least two-thirds of your post sound like you are talking like me.

I wondered if it would help you to know that this happens to other people a lot, so that you don't beat yourself up with guilt.