Not sure if my doctor is on the right track

Posted , 4 users are following.

On June 14th of this year, I injured my right hand. I was initially seen in urgent care and was diagnosed with a "sprain". After 3 weeks of it not improving, I saw an orthopedist who also said it was a sprain and to wear a wrist brace for a month. Three weeks ago he said he wanted an MRI of my wrist because "if it isn't healing on its own by now, it probably isn't going to". I saw a fracture on the initial urgent care x-ray and mentioned this to him but he completely blew it off and stated there was no fracture. What do I know, I'm only a nurse? I can't afford several visits a week of physical therapy (poor insurance) and I'm allergic to cortisone. He keeps offering these options to me even though I've told them that I cannot use them due to the afore mentioned circumstances. He now wants me to wait another month to see if it heals on its own (which contradicts what he told me previously) and with no immobilization. He even asked me if I'd had it immobilized and I told him I'd followed his orders to immobilize it with the brace. I feel he should have known that if he'd ordered the treatment. The MRI revealed the following "a longitudinal split tear of the extensor carpi ulnaris tendon and a mildly displaced fracture of the fifth metacarpal base at the attachment of the extensor carpi ulnaris tendon. This favors avulsion injury". He said if it isn't better in a month with no treatment, I have a tough decision to make about just living with it or surgery but he can't guarantee he can locate or repair the injury at that point. So now I have no support on a wrist that is very painful and I have to use in my job as a nurse. I feel as if I am left with no options and that there is a delay in appropriate treatment. My question is: Does this sound like the right course of treatment at this point or should I be looking at a second opinion?

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted